Cute Poem


Run Hide the Monster Is Outside: A Tale with a Twist

 

Barbara Bloom

 

Did you see the shadow that was three feet wide?

Trying to get me and I hope he does not come in side

Coming out only in the dark of night

Hoping to scare me and give me a good fright

 

Oh No! He screeches and does whine

Trying to get into my window and I am scared and not fine

Close the window hide behind the door

Find the trap door and hide under the floor

 

Where is my flashlight I am holding it real tight

I hope that the bulb stays on and I don’t lose the light

Check out those green eyes and don’t get too scared

I hope that I catch him because I am getting mad

 

 

Dear Mr. Monster I am counting to three

I can promise you that you will never find me

Don’t cough, don’t cry or even dare sneeze

This monster might find you and enter and not say please

 

 

But, how would he get the monster oh dear

Calling Uncle Dave took away from of his fear

So, just what is this monster can you do the wave

Open your eyes and try and be brave

 

Does he find out who the monster is and will he get caught

I cannot tell you that because you need to find out so don’t be distraught

Once again author Barbara Bloom takes the reader inside the world of a little boy

Who just wants to have fun and not be frightened by an monster ruining his joy

 

Does he ever learn the truth behind the green eyes

Why did his sister tell him it was dead you should not tell lies

But, maybe she did not want him to be afraid you see

After all he’s kind of little and not brave like you and me.

 

 

 

The pictures are great and the cover reveals nothing about the real monster but you never know. You can feel the excitement in each picture as the little boy races to find the monster his heart racing and much more. Once again author Barbara Bloom handles an issue that many parents and kids face when they see shadows at night and think they see a monster. Find out what happens when you learn the twist at the end.

 

Fran Lewis: reviewer: Let’s give this one : FIVE GREEN EYES!

 

Leave a Reply

