THE NEXT BEST THING


 

 

I’ve joined the Next Big Think thanks to Marta Bishop who invited me. of Marta Moran Bishop is the Author of Wee Three: A Child’s World, which is an expanded version of Wee: Three: A Mother’s Love in Verse and A Poet’s Journey: Emotions. Marta comes from three generations of female writers and is currently working on Dinky: The Nurse Mare’s Foal, and The Between Times.

She lives in Massachusetts with her husband, cats and horses. They help her find inspiration and joy in each day.

 

 

I have to answer these questions:

 

What is the working title of Your Book?

Faces Behind the Stones

 

Where did the idea come from for the book?

 

After my sister passed away I decided to write a book from the perspective of the person behind the gravestone so that you can hear their story told as it happened before they died. The first story in Faces Behind the Stones is about what I think caused her death and what happened but it is a fictional story based on real life events.

 

What genre does your book fall under?

Horror

 

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie?

There are seven stories in this book so I would need quite a few actors to play each one of the people telling their stories. I think that my sister being blonde and really pretty should be played by Meg Ryan or Michelle Pfeiffer. As far as the male lead I think I might want Denzel for one role and the other one Harrison Ford or Sean Connery.

 

 

 

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

It took about two months and from that point on quite a few rewrites and then edited.
What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

That is hard but someone compared by writing to Stephen King and Alfred Hitchcock.

 

Who or What inspired you to write this book?

There are many incidents that I recall growing up and in the present of people whose deaths really bothered me and what led up to them really made me wonder what would happened if they could tell it their way. The second story Wrongly Accused is a true story based on what happened to a teacher in my school that wound up in the Rubber Room when accused of misconduct. Before she died she related her story to me the way I wrote it in this book. The other stories are based on real life events but the characters and some of the situations have been changed.

 

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

The fact that the main character in each story is telling what happened to them from behind the gravestone and you can hear their voice is unique. Sometimes the choices you make in life will come back and haunt you and sometimes what happens because of the actions or inactions of others will change the course of events in a person’s life. Read Faces Behind the Stones and the sequel Bad Choices to learn more about these real people behind the stones.

 

I have tagged these writers to be the Next Best Thing. Be sure to go to their links and say hi next Wednesday. October 24th they will be answering these questions.

I have tagged these five authors:

Karinawww.friedgatortail.wordpress.com

 

 

Ashley

Stuart www.authorstuartgyates.wordpress.com

 

Martha: http://marthaskitchenkorner.blogspot.com/

 

Leave a Reply

