OUTSTANDING


Just Reviews

Belagana-Belazana: An Outsider’s Quest in the Navajo Nation Terry Winetsky

A small Navajo town and a school filled with students with learning disabilities is the setting for this novel. Hired as an English as Second Language teacher, Sean learns that the dynamics of his job and the requirements have been changed. No longer teaching English he is now the PE teacher and the counselor for the dormitory and in charge of many of the staff. His assistant, Leonard, speaks the language and seems to have problems dealing with the bureaucratic end of things, the cultural differences and how to best help the students. Taking a tour of the school he learns about the limited funds, the fact that he is now the coach of all of the teams and that everything is not what he expected it to be. He also learns that the students are at times difficult and some…

View original post 1,253 more words

Advertisements

The Nearly GIRL


Just Reviews

 

The Nearly Girl

by Lisa de Nikolits

on Tour November 2016

Synopsis:

Fans of “A Prayer for Owen Meany” and “One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest” will love this clever, fast-paced and enjoyable thriller.

Like a modern-day Joan of Arc, Amelia Fisher attempts to carve out a ‘normal life’, showing us how mythic the idea of ‘normal’ really is.

With a poetic genius for a father, an obsessed body builder for a mother, and an enchantingly eccentric group seeking the help of an unorthodox therapist, what could possibly go wrong?

A chance discovery propels Amelia and fellow therapy attendee, Mike, with whom she is in love, into a life-threatening situation instigated by the crazed doctor’s own dark secret but Amelia’s psychosis saves the day.

Told with warmth, humor and populated with vividly original characters, this sprint-paced novel has it all, from restraining orders to sex in office bathrooms, and…

View original post 1,272 more words